Meet DrAdventure:  Single Male Online Dating Profile Free Membership Profile
Where Singles and Adventure Meet

  • Similar Profiles
[ Go Back to Search Results ]
2009 on the job photo
  • 2009 on the job photo

Online dating site member DrAdventure

  • vancouver, bc  
  • Male
  • 47 yrs old

Seeking one in a million outdoorsy partner

Smoke Never
Drink Socially
Activity Level Very active
Have Kids No
Want Kids Not sure
Work Type Executive/Management
Education PhD / Post Doctoral
Religion Spiritual but not religious
Ethnicity White / Caucasian
Eyes Brown
Hair Dark brown
Body Type Athletic and toned
Marital Status Single
I’m Looking for
Women between the ages of 30 and 60

I’m Interested in
Dating, A long term relationship, Activity partner, Friendship, Marriage, Other
About me
ME: After growing up here and moving away, I’ve recently returned in order to be closer to my aging mother. I am ideally looking for a friend/partner who enjoys being active in the outdoors. My given name is Simon. Dr. Adventure is the nickname my students gave me several years ago when I was teaching outdoor courses. My photos are very recent and represent my duties as an academic administrator and my latest trips to Colorado, Africa, China, and California. I’m looking for someone to join me on the next road trip to local places or South America. Right now, I have lots of free time to travel, play, and explore my old stomping grounds.

ACTIVITIES: I currently enjoy most everything outdoors (see my long list above). You don’t have to do all of these, just one or two would be enough to share. ADVENTURE TRAVEL: My travel is often about living and learning from within the local culture, language, history, and nature. I have taught in over 50 countries and, in doing so, lived with several tribal groups, many indigenous populations, and mostly local families as I have traveled the world. I like to see their religions, customs, and countries through their eyes.

CAREER: I’ve been an academic most of my life. I started as an outdoor leader/instructor in my teens, and then a university professor in my 20s; I left higher education to become an entrepreneur of a technology business in my 30s, and then (after selling the business) returned in my 40s as a college administrator (I was unable to find a return to teaching/research that made a difference). However, I have been interviewing locally for university presidencies and teaching/research professorships, but may settle into a middle level dean role. I’m financially independent/stable. I want to do rewarding work; I don’t need a job for the pay.

RELATIONSHIPS: I believe for a relationship to be successful the couple needs to share a common foundation of interests AND have enough other interests outside the relationship so as not to become co-dependent on one another for their mutual entertainment or definition. In other words, some differences and NOT a perfect match are desired. Next, I believe that communication and trust are reciprocally related so that improvements in one enhances the other, but that both are necessary in synergy to achieve the glue that binds the relationship together. Lastly, I believe in intimacy in all its forms: emotional, spiritual, intellectual, physical and sexual. However, these are not instant and must be earned through random acts of affection and careful disclosure in an atmosphere of safety. To become stronger apart and more secure together, we must each openly share weaknesses, appear vulnerable, and be willing to take risks. I’ve done the self-work necessary to not dwell on my past relationships. I’ve moved on without the drama and hope you have as well. We all have some life baggage; hopefully ours will be sensibly small and mutually manageable.

OTHER: I like all kinds of music, but am partial to the rock n roll of my youth. I keep healthy through daily exercise, sensible eating, and spending time outdoors in the healing spirit of nature. I like to cook (mostly spicy: Thai, Indian or Mexican); I like to eat (hence the need to exercise)! I was a professional photographer and photography teacher many years ago. I don’t smoke and drink only a beer/wine or two a week. I celebrate all people, philosophies, beliefs, choices, orientations, and ages. My past charitable work has been for social justice and environmental issues. I am an accomplished writer (several non-fiction textbooks and guidebooks, but I’d still like to write a great novel someday) and speaker (mostly at professional conferences). My friends describe me as compassionate, loving, romantic, very confident, highly intelligent, excellent communicator/facilitator/therapist, and loads of fun with a playful social group.
My Interests
  • Bicycling
  • Camping
  • Canoeing
  • Hiking
  • Horseback Riding
  • Mountain Biking
  • Orienteering
  • Rock Climbing
  • Roller Blading
  • Scuba Diving
  • Sea Kayaking
  • Single Vacations
  • White Water Rafting
  • Wine Tours
  • Adventure Sports
  • Beer, Wine and Spirits
  • Comedy
  • Cooking
  • Cultural
  • Day Outings
  • Exercise
  • Foreign Languages
  • Indoor Sports
  • Music
  • Outdoor Sports
  • Parties
  • Social Events
  • Volunteer Work

What I’m looking for
‘d like to find a fit partner who is at ease in nature, not intimidated by this profile, and has some free time for local and/or international travel. WHO: While appreciating all the messages I have received so far, I ought to be more specific about who I am seeking. First, my non-negotiable criteria are she must be similar to me: fit, smart, no tobacco/drugs, and currently active in a few outdoor activities (not my entire list, but enough to provide a foundation for actually getting out and doing these together). Second, she should be reasonably close in age, so someone in her forties. I am open to all ages 30-60, but if you are outside your forties, please have experience that allows for the deep and meaningful conversations of my generation, as this is very important to me. Lastly, I am very flexible on height, ethnicity, religion, income, education, profession, etc. Thanks.

[ Go Back to Search Results ]