Singles Events & Adventures
  • Join tens of thousands of singles and find local adventures and events that suit you.

    Start your adventure here

    It's simple and free.

  •   Interested in receiving our newsletter for international events?
  •   I agree to the terms and conditions.

  • Similar Profiles

Go Back to Search Results    



Athens, Ga

  • Male
  • 34 yrs old

Eyes Blue
Hair Dark brown
Height 6' 2"
Body Type About average
Marital Status Divorced
Smoke Never
Drink Never
Activity Level Active
Have Kids Yes and they live at home
Want Kids Not sure
Work Type Financial/Accounting/Real Estate
Education PhD / Post Doctoral
Religion Christian / Protestant
Ethnicity White / Caucasian
I'm Looking for
Women between the ages of 22 and 36
I'm Interested in
Dating, A long term relationship, Activity partner, Friendship, Other
My Interests
  • Bicycling
  • Camping
  • Canoeing
  • Cottage Get Away
  • Dinner Cruises
  • Hiking
  • Mountain Biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • Scuba Diving
  • Sea Kayaking
  • Single Parties
  • Single Vacations
  • White Water Rafting
  • Adventure Sports
  • Arts and Crafts
  • Informative Classes
  • Clubs
  • Comedy
  • Cooking
  • Cultural
  • Day Outings
  • Exercise
  • Hobbies
  • Indoor Sports
  • Music
  • Outdoor Sports
  • Parties
  • Social Events
  • Volunteer Work
About me
My mother always told me to be a Gentleman who is considerate of others, treats people well, and enjoys life. As rebellious I was as a teenager, that was one piece of advice I tried to adhere to. Hopefully others think of me this way ; but I am not Yoda (or even much of a Star Wars/trek geek) so I have no idea. I do hope that you have a chance to get to know me so you can make your own decision.

Probably one of the more unusual things about my life; I am the primary caregiver of my 6yr old daughter. Without going into detail, being called by God to raise her is absolutely amazing. Without a shadow of a doubt, raising her is the main area of my life that I give my all too. The rewards are so magnificent; I wouldn't trade that responsibility for anything.

Besides being a highly active father, My favorite things to do usually involve traveling. Of course I love the big trips- but as much as that I like simple weekend getaways. Anything from Long weekend in New York to traveling by car in the south east. My favorite local destinations are the Gulf Coast and different mountain bed & Breakfasts . My mother has a home in Apalachicola FL, and I frequently take trips to St George Island (SGI). There are too many little spots in the mountains to list, but driving through the Highlands during October for weekend hiking and shopping is one of my favorite pastimes.

So, to sum, while continuing to contribute to specific Life accounts (college - retirement - etc) , I try to spend quality time with my daughter, travel, and hopefully begin dating someone special. Fortunately, I am able to give generously of myself to all of these areas and make changes (for "fun" events) in my schedule practically whenever I want. The primary area my life lacks is quality time with a women who shares many of the same values and life goals. Hopefully, you - the person reading this- might be that person. Even if there is a chance, please take a minute and shoot me a message. I can assure you it will be received with joy and and any and all responses will be totally appropriate.

Life has been very good to me; I have also dealt with some difficulties. Fortunately I am healthy and have come through some tough situations unscathed. Most recently this included being rear ended by a Commercial Rig on the interstate. Although I took most of the impact I ended with a 7 car pileup and me being carried by ambulance. Anyway, that was several years ago, but I came to understand tough times. Thankfully now when you meet me you'd have no idea I've dealt with any trauma - but I know many are not that fortunate. These type of things have given me a level of empathy that is high - that is one trait I place a high value on when meeting others. My motto is whatever doesn't kill us, makes us..... Live longer....

I also like Heath Ledger's line from the 'Batman Dark Night' ; " whatever doesn't kill us simply makes us ..... Stranger". With that said, that doesn't describe my feelings- but I loved that movie and that was one of my favorite lines...

After reading my comments, hopefully you gained some insight into my personality. Generally, my intentions involve living life to the fullest. I'm not the partying type. That lifestyle is not what I consider "Full". I like music(concerts) arts (painting /poetry/ art festivals), amusement (Disney / fireworks/ Theatre / Opera) , sports (playing/ watching / UGA/ Atl Falcons&Braves) , animals (safari / owning/ helping), and outdoor activities (hiking/ kayaking / surfing/ skiing / etc).

Usually my favorite times involve the outdoors; whether it be Going to a park with Children, kayaking the Broad river, or Skiing in Telluride CO. Life just has too much beauty to spend too much time staring at screens. With that said, I'd like to meet someone, and this forum appears to be as good as any.

Although I would consider myself an intellectual, that side of constantly thinking is something I am trying to grow out of. The closer I get to having more past than future, turning my brain "off" continuously sounds like a better idea. Nowadays, my preference is to spend energy talking with people who enjoy talking and working to enrich both of our lives.

I've spent many years in higher education earning bachelors (UGA) and multiple graduate degrees. Fields of Interest are business and law. Specifically finance and patent law. I'm sure that sounds really boring until you invent something, at which point you would need someone to patent it and channel the windfall of money that comes. Then you would be VERY interested in people who do what I do!!

I am certainly not one of the "wall street journal carrying ladder climbers", but do enjoy stability and security. I guess a way to explain my main goal in a general sense, is that despite all odds, try to stay resilient persist in what is right.

Although I've fallen down several times; I pick myself up, check my wounds, lick them and pout for a day or so ;-), then get up and try again. This consistent resilience (or some would call it stupidity) has led to a current stage in life that is comfortable and allows me significant free time.

In my opinion, a great lifestyle is one that allows me to have time and resources to put towards fun outings with new people. And of course, more than anything, providing my child with as many advantages as possible is paramount.

What I'm looking for
Goals /Reasons for Joining POF• My goal is not to find the "one" immediately , but meet people and see where it goes. Truthfully, going out on dates is what appeals to me about this site. I'm not big on Internet friends, but will do what is needed to generate communication with a variety of people. As far as a "type" for me... I do not have one. I'm not prejudice towards people or their opinions. Having an open mind and learning from others is important to me. Not just in dating but in all aspects of life.

Go Back to Search Results    


American Singles

Search Events in
New York City, NY
Chicago, IL
Philadelphia, PA
New Jersey
Orlando, FL